Getting Lost All Over Again

 

climbing1

One year ago, today, I was in Rishikesh, Uttarakhand, India. I had finished my 200 hour yoga teacher training and was in the thralls of trying to decide whether I would come back to the United States pretty much immediately, or change my plane ticket for the second time and stretch out my trip.

I chose the latter.

At the time, I had people calling me back to Washington state. I felt the urge to return quite keenly. Going back to a place I knew, to people I knew, to a culture I understood and roads I wouldn’t get lost on was so appealing. There’s comfort in the known, in the expected.

There is also stagnation. Murk. An ever receding line marks the edges of that comfort zone. The longer we stay inside that line, the closer it gets to exactly where we stand.

So, I did what I’ve done a dozen times before: I threw a bomb, right into the middle of what was calling me back.

Then I changed my plane ticket.

Like any bombing, there were casualties. The people involved are still nursing wounds, to one degree or another. But, that’s life. Sometimes people get hurt. When we put expectations on one another, we’re only asking to be let down. So, I got let down. I let other people down. And I continued my journey.

 

malasana

Today, I’m back in Washington, but not for much longer. I stand on the precipice of a new adventure, much like I did in Rishikesh one year (or was it a million years?) ago. In a little over two weeks, I leave for Peru, along with my partner and two cats. This time, I was wise enough not to book a return flight, because who knows what’s going to happen when I get there?

I felt a lot of fear before I went to India. I felt a lot of fear before I decided to stay in India. What I feel now has elements of that same kind of fear, but it’s different. Or, maybe, I’m different.

My faith in a supportive universe has grown exponentially in the last year. My fucks given about what other people think of me and think they need from me has dropped dramatically. The combination of those factors puts me in a pretty solid place, I think. Ready to break away from the comfortable, lift my arms, and dive into the next chapter.

I’m ready to get lost again.

Leave a Reply

